Codes and convention-
Signs that creates meaning: Symbolic and Technical codes
Symbolic codes- Location, Settings, Wardrobe/Costume, Props,
Technical codes- Camera works, Lighting, Sound, Editing,
Conventions- Common feature (Patterns) that can be found in a genre.
Horror films- Colour red, blood, danger, conflict, war- LOWKEY=MIDKEY, Costume, props
NW-
Establishing shots- Blurred highlights, out of focus.
Close up- Low angle shot of the character.
Aerial/Low angle of traffic.
Elliptical editing-Controls time
Tuesday, 29 November 2016
Thursday, 10 November 2016
Woolwich garden centre



The development of a logo. It started
with primary research (the plant drawing). Then working in Adobe
Illustrator to develop a suitable image with suitable type. There needs
to be a unity about the design. The number of colours are kept to a
minimum; a successful logo should work in black and white and be
adaptable for an online presence as well as for print. Various sizes are
needed too. By producing a vector image, the logo can be scaled from
the very large to the very small without losing sharpness and detail.
Thursday, 3 November 2016
Flower gradient
1. Set up a new file to work on. A4 size landscape will be good.
2. Draw a circle with the ellipse tool. Hold the shift button to create the circle. Leave the colour as default (white fill and black line). The size doesn't matter too much at this stage.
3. Go to the Effects menu > Distort and Transform > Roughen
4. Using the sliders, make the circle slightly rough. You will need to experiment. There really is not the "right" amount to chose. Smooth points might be best as we are creating flowers. But again you might want to experiment.
5. The circle will look something like the one below.
6. Expand the circle. Go to the Object menu > Expand Appearance. There will be no change in the appearance of the rough circle
7. Double click on the Scale Tool (in the Tool Panel). It is the middle tool in the picture below.
8. Enter 80 in the Uniform Scale field. Again there is not "right" amount and you should eventually experiment. But this is fine for now. Don't click OK.
2. Draw a circle with the ellipse tool. Hold the shift button to create the circle. Leave the colour as default (white fill and black line). The size doesn't matter too much at this stage.
3. Go to the Effects menu > Distort and Transform > Roughen
4. Using the sliders, make the circle slightly rough. You will need to experiment. There really is not the "right" amount to chose. Smooth points might be best as we are creating flowers. But again you might want to experiment.
5. The circle will look something like the one below.
6. Expand the circle. Go to the Object menu > Expand Appearance. There will be no change in the appearance of the rough circle
7. Double click on the Scale Tool (in the Tool Panel). It is the middle tool in the picture below.
8. Enter 80 in the Uniform Scale field. Again there is not "right" amount and you should eventually experiment. But this is fine for now. Don't click OK.
9. Make sure the Preview is turned on. Press the Copy button. (The other options are fine to leave as they are).
Now you will have two objects on the art board similar to the picture below.
10. Rotate the selected object slightly by clicking on the Selection Tool (black arrow) and rotating a corner handle. OR you could click on the Rotate Tool in the Tool panel and rotate the object.
Tuesday, 1 November 2016
Brief
- Use of characters
- Representation of characters
- Advertisement
- Style- Informal, Formal, Abstract, Realist, Anti realist
- Representation
- Narrative structure- Linear, Non Linear, Multi strand, Realist, Anti Realist
- Codes and Convention- Symbolic, Technical
- Use of characters/ Stars
- Themes and sub-text
- Setting
- Props
- Costume
- Make-up
- Movement visual effects
- Camera work and sounds
- Mis en Scene- The settings or surroundings of an event, Framing, composition, Purpose, Meaning, Props, Costumes, Visual Elements,
Subscribe to:
Posts (Atom)

